Print Send to friend

The Declaration Scroll

The Declaration of Independence is the document that proclaims the establishment of the State of Israel.
The Independence Scroll is its accepted name, but officially it is the Declaration of the Establishment of the State of Israel.
David Ben Gurion read the scroll at the independence ceremony that took place on Friday, the 5th day of Iyar 5708, May 14th 1948, at 4 pm, 8 hours prior to the expiry of the British Mandate in Palestine.

The Scroll of Independence contains six sections:

(a) The historical section: 
Justification and reasons
The right to establish a state
The hardship suffered by the Jewish people
Natural and legal rights

(b) The declarative section
– the declaration

(c) The operative section
– the governmental bodies, the Provisional State Council (the Knesset), and Provisional Government of Israel (government)

(d) The idealistic section
– the credo Vision of the founders

(e) Calls and appeals
Appeal to the United Nations
Appeal to the neighboring Arab states
Appeal to the Arabs living in Israel
Appeal to the Diaspora

(f) Signatures
– the signatures of 37 members of the Provisional State Council who approved the scroll.

At the independence ceremony Ben Gurion did not read from the scroll, but from a draft printed on a typewriter.
The calligraphy on the scroll was designed by Otte Otto Wallish.
The scroll was made up of two squares of parchment, and only after the ceremony the (third) part which the members of the Provisional State Council signed, was attached.

The design was inspired by a leather Bible made of parchment sewn together with a light blue yarn similar to the fringes of the talis, and like it, is was also written in Ktav Stam (Jewish traditional writing in the Sephardic version). A purple wax stamp and a stamp with the Star of David were attached to the base of the yarn.

מגילת העצמאות צילום